Language selection

Search

Archived

This page has been archived on the Web.

Quarterly Financial Report: July 1 to September 30, 2014

For the period July 1, 2014 to September 30, 2014

Management Statement for the Quarter Ended September 30, 2014

Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in accordance with Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. It should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for Fiscal Year 2014–2015 as well as Canada's Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012).

The Canada School of Public Service (the School) was created on April 1, 2004, when the legislative provisions of Part IV of the Public Service Modernization Act came into force. The School is a departmental corporation under the Treasury Board Secretariat, and its mission is set out in the Canada School of Public Service Act.

The School is the common learning service provider for the Public Service of Canada. It has a legislative mandate to provide a range of learning activities to build individual and organizational capacity and management excellence within the public service. The School is in a unique position to offer relevant, affordable and quality learning services in both official languages to all public service employees at all levels and across the country, as well as to functional communities and public service organizations.

The School's program priorities are geared to delivering results in accordance with the Treasury Board's Policy on Learning, Training and Development, which came into effect on January 1, 2006. The Policy highlights the value of learning and the importance of creating a learning culture within the public service.

The School has a single strategic outcome: "Public servants have the common knowledge and the leadership and management competencies they require to fulfil their responsibilities in serving Canadians." Four programs support this strategic outcome:

  1. Foundational Learning
  2. Organizational Leadership Development
  3. Public Sector Management Innovation
  4. Internal Services

The School was created to ensure that all employees of the Public Service of Canada have the competencies and common knowledge required to serve Canadians in the most efficient and effective way possible. To achieve this goal, the School continues to offer a strong and consistent curriculum that focuses on the key skills and knowledge required by a dynamic public service that must constantly adapt to the needs of its stakeholders and Canadians.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared using expenditure-based accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the School's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for Fiscal Year 2014–2015. This report has also been guided by a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before monies can be spent by the government. Approvals are given through appropriation acts in the form of annually approved limits or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the School prepares its annual financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting standards, which are based on generally accepted accounting principles for the Canadian public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Highlights of the Quarter Ended September 30, 2014, and Fiscal Year 2014–2015 Results to Date


  1. Total Authorities for Fiscal Year 2014–2015

    • The School has two sources of funding:
      • appropriated funding as voted by Parliament for those activities to be paid from the Consolidated Revenue Fund; and
      • statutory funding authority for the respending of revenue and contributions to the employee benefit plans.
    • The School's appropriations were reduced to $41.3 million for fiscal year 2014–2015 compared to $42.2 million reported at the end of the second quarter for fiscal year 2013–2014. This decrease is primarily due to the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 and is partially offset by an operating budget carry forward.
    • The statutory funding authority of $84.3 million for 2014–2015 consists of $40 million of forecasted revenue, $38.7 million of respendable revenue brought forward from the previous fiscal year under the provisions of section 18(2) of the Canada School of Public Service Act and $5.6 million for employee benefit plans.
    • The total authorities available in fiscal year 2014–2015 amount to $125.6 million. This is $4.2 million lower than the amount available in fiscal year 2013–2014 due to the decrease in revenue forecast and appropriations partially offset by an increase in respendable revenue brought forward from the previous fiscal year.

  2. Planned Expenditures for Fiscal Year 2014–2015

    • The School has planned expenditures of $125.6 million in 2014–2015, consisting of $69 million for salaries and benefits and $56.6 million for operating and maintenance.

  3. Expenditures for the Quarter Ended September 30, 2014

    • Overall expenditures decreased by $2.9 million in the second quarter of fiscal year 2014–2015 compared to the same quarter last year ($17.8 million versus $20.7 million). This is primarily due to decreases in expenditures in personnel ($3.9 million) partially offset by professional and special services ($0.9 million).

  4. Year-to-Date Expenditures as at September 30, 2014

    • At the end of the second quarter of 2014–2015, the School spent $33.2 million compared to $37.2 million at the same time last year. This decrease of $4 million is primarily attributable to expenditure reductions in personnel ($6.2 million) and rental ($0.5 million), partially offset by professional and special services ($0.8 million) and a one-time transition payment of $1.7 million for the implementation of salary payment in arrears by the Government of Canada.

Risks and Uncertainties

Respendable revenue earned from the provision of training services and products to client departments represents an important source of funding for the School. There is uncertainty concerning the level of expenditures by client departments. The School monitors revenue levels regularly and, if required, implements action plans. In addition, mitigation strategies are developed and documented in the School's Corporate Risk Profile to minimize the impact of emerging risks.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

No significant changes were noted during the second quarter of 2014–2015.

Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that are being implemented in order to refocus government and programs, to make it easier for Canadians and businesses to deal with their government and to modernize and reduce the back office.

The School achieved savings of $3.5 million in accordance with the approved targets for the first two years of the implementation of the Budget 2012 measures. Additional savings of $3.1 million are required in 2014–2015 to achieve ongoing savings of $6.6 million. These savings are being achieved through efficiency measures and program reductions that align resources with the School's core mandate by scaling back where needs are reduced, transforming how the organization works internally and consolidating and streamlining its operations.

The difference of $0.9 million in appropriations between 2014–2015 and 2013–2014 therefore reflects the savings measures for 2014–2015, which were partially offset by the operating budget carry forward.

No significant financial risks or uncertainties related to the implementation of initiatives and savings measures from Budget 2012 have been identified. As part of integrated risk management, the School monitors its environment to identify emerging risks and, if these risks are deemed significant, implement mitigation actions.

Original approved by:
Linda Lizotte-MacPherson
Deputy Minister/President

Danielle May-Cuconato
Vice-President, Chief Financial Officer and Head of Human Resources
Human Resources and Workforce Management Directorate
Corporate Management and Registration Services Branch
Ottawa, Ontario
November 19, 2014

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Statement of authorities for fiscal years 2014-2015 and 2013-2014 in thousands of dollars. Read down the first column for the authorities and then to the right for the figures for the year ending March 31, 2015, the quarter ended December 31, 2014 for fiscal year 2014-2015, the year-to-date used at quarter-end, for the year ending March 31, 2014, the quarter ended September 30, 2013 for fiscal year 2013-2014, and the year-to-date used at quarter-end. The last row of the table displays the total authorities.
(In thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2014-2015 Fiscal year 2013-2014
Total available for use for the year ending
March 31, 2015
Used during the quarter ended
September  30, 2014
Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending
March 31, 2014
Used during the
quarter ended
September  30, 2013
Year to date used at
quarter-end
Vote 40 – Program expenditures 41,318 13,179 24,058 42,231 15,119 28,027
Budgetary statutory authorities
Contributions to employee benefit plans 5,568 1,393 2,785 6,233 1,558 3,117
Spending of revenues pursuant to subsection 18(2) of the Canada School of Public Service Act 78,740 3,183 6,311 81,391 3,997 6,009
Total authorities 125,626 17,755 33,154 129,855 20,674 37,153

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object for fiscal years 2014-2015 and 2013-2014 in thousands of dollars. Read down the first column for the list of expenditures and then read to the right for the figures for the year ending March 31, 2015, the quarter ended June 30, 2014, the year-to-date used at quarter-end, the year ending March 31, 2014, the quarter ended September 30, 2013, the year-to-date used at quarter-end. The last row of the table displays the total budgetary expenditures.
(In thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2014-2015 Fiscal year 2013-2014
Planned expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2015Footnotes*
Expended during the quarter ended September  30, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures
for the year ending
March 31, 2014Footnotes*
Expended
during the
quarter ended
September  30, 2013
Year to date used at
quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 69,072 12,994 25,019 72,014 16,937 31,215
Transportation and communications 2,399 295 473 5,211 281 578
Information 1,055 99 211 1,434 54 91
Professional and special services 45,568 3,354 4,399 41,771 2,500 3,584
Rentals 2,766 508 606 4,042 511 1,055
Repair and maintenance 635 287 305 1,529 29 32
Utilities, materials and supplies 1,111 57 126 1,915 153 221
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,328 134 293 1,939 123 288
Other subsidies and paymentsFootnotes** 1,692 27 1,722 - 86 89
Total budgetary expenditures 125,626 17,755 33,154 129,855 20,674 37,153

Footnotes

Features

Complete your census today!

Help your community make choices about education, employment, transportation, health care and housing services.

National Indigenous History Month

This year, National Indigenous History Month is dedicated to the missing children, the families left behind and the survivors of residential schools.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about (required)
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Archived

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Rapport financier trimestriel : 1er juillet au 30 septembre 2014

Pour la période du 1er juillet au 30 septembre 2014

Rapport de la direction pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2014

Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé comme l'exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon la Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. On devrait le lire en se rapportant au Budget principal des dépenses et aux Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l'exercice financier 2014‑2015, de même qu'au Plan d'action économique de 2012 (Budget de 2012).

L'École de la fonction publique du Canada (l'École) a été créée le 1er avril 2004, lors de l'entrée en vigueur des dispositions de la partie 4 de la Loi sur la modernisation de la fonction publique. L'École est un établissement public relevant du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, et dont la mission est énoncée dans la Loi sur l'École de la fonction publique du Canada.

L'École fournit des services d'apprentissage communs à l'ensemble de la fonction publique du Canada. Elle a le mandat législatif d'offrir une gamme d'activités d'apprentissage afin de mettre en valeur le potentiel individuel et organisationnel ainsi que l'excellence en gestion au sein de la fonction publique. Ainsi, l'École se trouve dans une position privilégiée pour fournir des services d'apprentissage pertinents, économiques et de qualité à tous les fonctionnaires, quel que soit leur niveau, de même qu'aux collectivités fonctionnelles et aux organisations de la fonction publique, et ce, partout au pays et dans les deux langues officielles.

Les priorités du programme de l'École sont axées sur la production de résultats, conformément à la Politique en matière d'apprentissage, de formation et de perfectionnement du Conseil du Trésor, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2006. La politique met en relief la valeur de l'apprentissage et l'importance de créer une culture fondée sur l'apprentissage au sein de la fonction publique.

L'École vise un seul résultat stratégique : « Les fonctionnaires ont les connaissances communes et les compétences en leadership et en gestion dont ils ont besoin pour exercer leurs responsabilités envers les Canadiens ». Quatre programmes contribuent à l'atteinte de ce résultat stratégique, soit :

  1. l'apprentissage de base;
  2. le perfectionnement en leadership organisationnel;
  3. l'innovation dans la gestion du secteur public;
  4. les services internes.

L'École a été créée pour faire en sorte que tous les fonctionnaires fédéraux aient les compétences et les connaissances communes pour servir la population canadienne de la manière la plus efficiente et la plus efficace possible. À cette fin, elle offre un programme de cours substantiel, axé sur les compétences et les connaissances qu'exige une fonction publique dynamique en constante évolution qui doit sans cesse s'adapter aux besoins des intervenants et des Canadiens.

Méthode de présentation

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé au moyen d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport traite des autorisations de dépenser de l'École accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par l'organisation, conformément au Budget principal des dépenses et aux Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l'exercice 2014‑2015. Le rapport repose également sur un référentiel particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière sur l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées au moyen de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou au moyen de lois, sous forme d'autorisations législatives de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Dans le cadre de son processus de production de rapports sur le rendement, l'École prépare ses états financiers annuels en utilisant la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale, conformément aux normes comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles reposent sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus pour le secteur public canadien. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore établis en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Le présent rapport trimestriel n'a pas fait l'objet d'un examen ni d'un audit externe.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels, pour la période se terminant le 30 septembre 2014, et cumulatifs, pour l'exercice 2014‑2015


  1. Autorisations totales pour 2014‑2015

    • L'École a deux sources de financement :
      • les crédits annuels votés par le Parlement pour des activités à être financées à partir du Trésor public;
      • l'autorisation législative pour les recettes disponibles et les contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés.
    • Les crédits de l'École ont été réduits à 41,3 millions de dollars en 2014‑2015, par rapport à 42,2 millions de dollars à la fin du deuxième trimestre de 2013‑2014. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable aux mesures d'économie annoncées dans le Budget de 2012, et elle a été partiellement atténuée par un report de fonds provenant du budget de fonctionnement.
    • L'autorisation législative de 84,3 millions de dollars pour 2014‑2015 comprend 40 millions de dollars de recettes prévues, 38,7 millions de dollars de recettes disponibles reportées de l'exercice précédent (conformément au paragraphe 18(2) de la Loi sur l'École de la fonction publique du Canada) et 5,6 millions de dollars pour les régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés.  
    • Le total des autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice 2014‑2015 s'élève à 125,6 millions de dollars, soit 4,2 millions de moins qu'en 2013‑2014. Cette baisse est le résultat net de la diminution des recettes prévues et des crédits votés et d'une augmentation des recettes disponibles reportées de l'exercice précédent.

  2. Dépenses prévues pour 2014‑2015

    • Les dépenses prévues de l'École s'élèvent à 125,6 millions de dollars en 2014‑2015, et se composent de 69 millions de dollars pour les salaires et les avantages sociaux, et de 56,6 millions de dollars pour le fonctionnement et l'entretien.

  3. Dépenses pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2014

    • Les dépenses totales ont diminué de 2,9 millions de dollars au cours du deuxième trimestre de 2014‑2015, comparativement au même trimestre l'an dernier (17,8 millions de dollars par rapport à 20,7 millions ). Cette diminution est due principalement aux réductions des dépenses liées au personnel (3,9 millions de dollars), et elle est partiellement atténuée par l'augmentation des services professionnels et spéciaux (0,9 million de dollars).

  4. Cumul des dépenses au 30 septembre 2014

    • À la fin du deuxième trimestre de 2014‑2015, l'École avait dépensé 33,2 millions de dollars, par rapport à 37,2 millions de dollars pour la même période au cours de l'exercice précédent. Cette diminution de 4 millions de dollars est principalement attribuable à une baisse des dépenses liées au personnel (6,2 millions de dollars) et des coûts de location (0,5 million de dollars). Elle est partiellement atténuée par les services professionnels et spéciaux (0,8 million de dollars) ainsi que par un paiement unique de transition, de l'ordre de 1,7 million de dollars, pour la mise en œuvre du régime de paye en arrérages du gouvernement du Canada.

Risques et incertitudes

Les recettes disponibles provenant de la prestation de services et de produits de formation aux ministères clients représentent une importante source de financement pour l'École. L'incertitude demeure quant au niveau de dépenses de ces derniers. L'École surveille régulièrement ses niveaux de revenus et, si c'est nécessaire, elle met en œuvre des plans d'action. En outre, l'École élabore et documente, à même son profil de risque organisationnel, des stratégies d'atténuation pour minimiser l'impact des nouveaux risques.

Changements importants concernant le fonctionnement, le personnel et les programmes

Aucun changement important n'a été observé au cours du deuxième trimestre de 2014‑2015.

Mise en œuvre du Budget de 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d'économie annoncées dans le Budget de 2012 qui sont mises en œuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec le gouvernement ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

L'École a réalisé des économies de 3,5 millions de dollars, conformément aux cibles approuvées pour les deux premières années de la mise en œuvre des mesures contenues dans le Budget de 2012. L'École prévoit des économies additionnelles de 3,1 millions de dollars en 2014‑2015, pour atteindre 6,6 millions de dollars en économies permanentes. Ces économies sont réalisées grâce à des mesures d'efficience et à des réductions touchant les programmes, de manière à affecter les ressources de l'organisation en concordance avec son mandat de base, en réduisant les activités lorsque les besoins diminuent, en transformant ses processus internes et en misant sur les regroupements et la rationalisation.

L'écart de 0,9 million de dollars observé dans les crédits parlementaires entre 2014‑2015 et 2013‑2014 est le résultat des mesures d'économie pour 2014-2015, lesquelles ont été partiellement atténuées par un report de fonds provenant du budget de fonctionnement.

L'École n'a pas recensé de risques financiers importants ni d'incertitudes majeures pouvant compromettre la réalisation des objectifs d'économie prévus par le Budget de 2012. Dans le cadre de sa gestion intégrée des risques, l'École surveille son environnement pour repérer les nouveaux risques et mettre en place des mesures d'atténuation, si ceux-ci s'avèrent importants.

Original approuvé par :
Linda Lizotte-MacPherson
Sous-ministre/présidente

Danielle May-Cuconato
Vice-présidente, dirigeante principale des finances et chef des ressources humaines
Direction de la gestion des ressources humaines et du milieu de travail
Direction générale de la gestion intégrée et des services d'inscription
Ottawa (Ontario)
Le 19 novembre 2014

État des autorisations (non audité)

SL'état des autorisations pour l'exercice financier 2014-2015 en milliers de dollars. Parcourir la première colonne pour les autorisations et suivre ensuite la ligne du bas vers la droite pour les chiffres concernant l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015, le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2014 et le cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre. La dernière ligne précise les autorisations totales.
(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2014-2015 Exercice 2013-2014
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2015
Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé
le 30 septembre 2014
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2014
Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé
le 30 septembre 2013
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 40 – Dépenses de programme 41 318 13 179 24 058 42 231 15 119 28 027
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés
5 568 1 393 2 785 6 233 1 558 3 117
Dépense des revenus conformément au paragraphe 18(2) de la Loi sur l'École de la fonction publique du Canada
78 740 3 183 6 311 81 391 3 997 6 009
Autorisations totales 125 626 17 755 33 154 129 855 20 674 37 153

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non auditées)

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant pour l'exercice financier 2014-2015 en milliers de dollars. Parcourir la première colonne pour la liste des dépenses. Suivre ensuite la ligne du bas vers la droite pour les chiffres concernant l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015, le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2014 et le cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre. La dernière ligne précise les dépenses budgétaires totales.
(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2014-2015 Exercice 2013-2014
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2015Footnotes*
Sommes dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2014Footnotes*
Sommes dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel
69 072 12 994 25 019 72 014 16 937 31 215
Transports et communications
2 399 295 473 5 211 281 578
Information
1 055 99 211 1 434 54 91
Services professionnels et spéciaux
45 568 3 354 4 399 41 771 2 500 3 584
Location
2 766 508 606 4 042 511 1 055
Services de réparation et d'entretien
635 287 305 1 529 29 32
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnement
1 111 57 126 1 915 153 221
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage
1 328 134 293 1 939 123 288
Autres subventions et paiementsFootnotes*
1 692 27 1 722 - 86 89
Dépenses budgétaires totales 125 626 17 755 33 154 129 855 20 674 37 153

En vedette

Remplissez le questionnaire du Recensement de 2021 dès aujourd'hui!

Aidez votre collectivité à prendre des décisions en éducation, transport, soins de santé, et services de logement.

Mois national de l'histoire autochtone

Cette année, le Mois national de l'histoire autochtone est consacré aux enfants disparus, aux familles qu'ils ont laissées derrière eux et aux survivants des pensionnats.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire (obligatoire)
Date de modification :