Language selection

Search

Future-Oriented Statement of Operations 2016–2017 (Unaudited)

The Canada School of Public Service's Future-Oriented Statement of Operations for the fiscal years ending March 31, 2016 and March 31, 2017 is presented in the table below. The presentation of the information by segment is based on the School's Program Alignment Architecture. The table below presents the expenses to be incurred by major object of expenses and the forecasted revenues.

Future-Oriented Statement of Operations by Program, Major Object of Expenses and Revenues

Future-Oriented Statement of Operations by Program, Major Object of Expenses and Revenues Future-Oriented Statement of Operations by Program, Major Object of Expenses and Revenues, in thousands of dollars. Read down the first column for operating expenses, revenues and the net cost of continuing operations, then to the right for the estimated results for 2015-2016 followed by figures for 2016-2017 by program and the total for the year.
(in dollars) Estimated Results
2015–2016
Planned Results – 2016–2017
Learning
Services
Internal
Services
Total
Expenses
Salaries and employee benefits
72,161,508 54,564,415 17,460,372 72,024,787
Professional and special services
11,801,891 6,686,688 2,139,711 8,826,398
Rental of accommodation and equipment
16,248,257 10,567,083 3,381,420 13,948,503
Transportation and telecommunications
1,382,483 783,284 250,647 1,033,931
Utilities, materials and supplies
371,218 210,324 67,303 277,627
Small equipment and parts
1,218,086 690,140 220,842 910,982
Printing and publishing
573,961 325,193 104,060 429,254
Amortization of tangible capital assets
2,577,299 2,481,083 793,936 3,275,019
Repair and maintenance
312,068 176,811 56,579 233,390
Other operating expenses
77,507 43,914 14,052 57,966
Total operating expenses
106,724,278 76,528,935 24,488,922 101,017,857
 
Revenues
Sales of goods and services
12,283,013 6,054,822 - 6,054,822
 
Net cost of continuing operations before government funding and transfers 94,441,265 70,474,113 24,488,922 94,963,035

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations

1. Authority and Objectives

The Canada School of Public Service was created on April 1, 2004, when the legislative provisions of Part IV of the Public Service Modernization Act came into force. The School is a departmental corporation under the Treasury Board Secretariat, and its mission is set out in the Canada School of Public Service Act.

The School is the common learning service provider for the Public Service of Canada. It has a legislative mandate to provide a range of learning activities to build individual and organizational capacity and management excellence within the public service. The School is in a unique position to offer relevant, affordable and quality learning services in both official languages to all public service employees at all levels and across the country, as well as to functional communities and public service organizations.

The School's program priorities are geared to delivering results in accordance with the Treasury Board's Policy on Learning, Training and Development, which came into effect on January 1, 2006. The Policy highlights the value of learning and the importance of creating a learning culture within the public service.

The School regularly reviews its suite of learning products to ensure alignment with government priorities and the learning needs of the public service. For instance, the School will integrate learning opportunities to support evidence-based decision making, delivery of results, open and transparent government, engagement and collaboration and Indigenous awareness, amongst other priorities.

The School has one new strategic outcome: Federal public service employees have the common knowledge, skills and competencies to fulfil their responsibilities in serving Canadians.

To achieve this goal, the School will continue to offer a strong and consistent curriculum that focuses on the key skills and knowledge required by a dynamic public service that must constantly adapt to the needs of its stakeholders and Canadians.

2. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The preparation of the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations requires making estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts. Assumptions are based upon information available and known to management at the time of development, reflect current business and economic conditions, assume a continuation of current governmental priorities and remain consistent with the School mandate and strategic objectives. At the time of the preparation of this Future-Oriented Statement of Operations, management believes the estimates and assumptions to be reasonable. Nonetheless, as with all such estimates and assumptions, there is a measure of uncertainty surrounding them. This uncertainty increases as the forecast horizon extends.

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared

  • on the basis of government policies, government priorities and the external environment at the time the future-oriented financial information was finalized;
  • on the basis of the School's plans as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities;
  • on the basis of the completion of the School's transformation toward its new business model, which focuses on the development and delivery of a common curriculum for the public service;
  • on the basis of the revenue forecast of $11.2 million in 2015–2016 and $6 million in 2016–2017, as disclosed in the Main Estimates and the Report on Plans and Priorities; and
  • in consideration of historical costs, trends and the latest available forecast for 2015–2016 and 2016–2017.

3. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2015–2016 and for 2016–2017, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations and the historical statement of operations include the following:

  • further changes to the operating budget through additional government-wide savings initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year;
  • the timing and amount of investments required under the School's new business model, especially those related to the classroom modernization and leasehold improvements for the move to Workplace 2.0; and
  • implementation of new collective agreements.

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the School will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

4. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented financial information has been prepared in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are consistent with generally accepted accounting principles for the Canadian public sector.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

  1. Revenues

    Revenues are recorded on an accrual basis. Revenues are recognized and recorded as such in the period in which the services have been rendered or the products delivered.

  2. Expenses

    Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for the School's operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered, including services provided without charge for accommodation, employer contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and worker's compensation, which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost.

    Vacation pay, compensatory leave and severance benefits are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.

    Expenses also include amortization of those tangible capital assets that are capitalized at their acquisition cost.

5. Parliamentary Authorities

The School is partially financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary appropriations. The modified cash basis of accounting is used to recognize transactions affecting parliamentary appropriations. The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations is based on accrual accounting. Consequently, items recognized in the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the School has different net results of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

  1. Reconciliation of net cost of operations to authorities requested
    Reconciliation of net cost of operation to authorities requested in thousands of dollars. Read down the first column for net cost of operations before government funding and transfers, adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities, adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities and current year authorities, then to the right for the figures for 2016 and for 2017.
    (in dollars) 2016 2017
    Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 94,441,26594,963,035
     
    Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities
    Revenues
    12,283,013 6,054,822
    Services provided without charge by other government departments
    -12,065,168 -12,050,141
    Severance benefits
    -2,249,642 -2,200,000
    Amortization of tangible capital assets
    -2,577,299 -3,275,019
    Total adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities -4,609,096 -11,470,338
     
    Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities
    Acquisition of tangible capital assets
    3,123,559 8,425,950
    Total adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 3,123,559 8,425,950
    Current year authorities to be used 92,955,728 91,918,647
  2. Authorities requested
    Authorities requested in thousands of dollars. Read down the first column for authorities requested, statutory authorities and current year authorities, then to the right for the figures for 2015 and for 2016.
    (in dollars)20162017
    Vote 1 – Program expenditures
    55,351,16069,217,505
    Total authorities requested 55,351,16069,217,505
     
    Statutory authorities
    Spending of revenues pursuant to subsection 18(2) of the Canada School of Public Service ActNote* 31,802,301 14,728,525
    Contributions to employee benefits plan 5,802,267 7,972,617
    Total statutory authorities to be used 37,604,568 22,701,142
     
    Current year authorities to be used 92,955,728 91,918,647

Features

Complete your census today!

Help your community make choices about education, employment, transportation, health care and housing services.

National Indigenous History Month

This year, National Indigenous History Month is dedicated to the missing children, the families left behind and the survivors of residential schools.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about (required)
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

État des résultats prospectif 2016-2017 (non audité)

L'état des résultats prospectif de l'École de la fonction publique du Canada pour les exercices se terminant le 31 mars 2016 et le 31 mars 2017 est présenté dans le tableau ci-après. La présentation de l'information par secteur est fondée sur l'architecture d'alignement des programmes de l'École. Le tableau ci-dessous présente les prévisions de charges par principal article de dépenses et les prévisions de revenus.

État des résultats prospectif par programme, article de dépenses et revenus

État des résultats prospectif par programme, article de dépenses et type de revenus, en milliers de dollars. La première colonne contient les charges de fonctionnement, les revenus ainsi que le coût net des activités poursuivies. Les colonnes suivantes présentent, en chiffres, les résultats estimatifs pour 2015-2016, puis les résultats prévus par programme pour 2016-2017 et le total pour l'année.
(en dollars) Résultats estimatifs
pour 2015-2016
Résultats estimatifs
pour 2016-2017
Services
d'apprentissage
Services
internes
Total
Charges
Salaires et avantages sociaux des employés
72 161 508 54 564 415 17 460 372 72 024 787
Services professionnels et spéciaux
11 801 891 6 686 688 2 139 711 8 826 398
Location des locaux et d'équipements
16 248 257 10 567 083 3 381 420 13 948 503
Transports et télécommunications
1 382 483 783 284 250 647 1 033 931
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnement
371 218 210 324 67 303 277 627
Petits équipements et pièces
1 218 086 690 140 220 842 910 982
Imprimerie et édition
573 961 325 193 104 060 429 254
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles
2 577 299 2 481 083 793 936 3 275 019
Réparation et entretien
312 068 176 811 56 579 233 390
Autres charges de fonctionnement
77 507 43 914 14 052 57 966
Total des charges
106 724 278 76 528 935 24 488 922 101 017 857
 
Revenus
Vente de biens et services
12 283 013 6 054 822 - 6 054 822
 
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 94 441 265 70 474 113 24 488 922 94 963 035

Notes à l'état des résultats prospectif

1. Pouvoirs et objectifs

L'École de la fonction publique du Canada a été créée le 1er avril 2004, lors de l'entrée en vigueur des dispositions de la partie 4 de la Loi sur la modernisation de la fonction publique. L'École est un établissement public relevant du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, et dont la mission est énoncée dans la Loi sur l'École de la fonction publique du Canada.

L'École fournit des services d'apprentissage communs à l'ensemble de la fonction publique du Canada. Elle a le mandat législatif d'offrir une gamme d'activités d'apprentissage afin de mettre en valeur le potentiel individuel et organisationnel ainsi que l'excellence en gestion au sein de la fonction publique. Ainsi, l'École se trouve dans une position privilégiée pour fournir des services d'apprentissage pertinents, économiques et de qualité à tous les fonctionnaires, quel que soit leur niveau, de même qu'aux collectivités fonctionnelles et aux organisations de la fonction publique, et ce, partout au pays et dans les deux langues officielles.

Les priorités du programme de l'École sont axées sur la production de résultats, conformément à la Politique en matière d'apprentissage, de formation et de perfectionnement du Conseil du Trésor, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2006. La politique met en relief la valeur de l'apprentissage et l'importance de créer une culture fondée sur l'apprentissage au sein de la fonction publique.

L'École examine régulièrement l'ensemble de ses produits d'apprentissage pour s'assurer qu'ils s'alignent sur les priorités du gouvernement et les besoins d'apprentissage de la fonction publique. Par exemple, l'École intégrera à sa programmation des occasions d'apprentissage à l'appui, entre autres priorités, de la prise de décision fondée sur des données probantes; de la production de résultats; du gouvernement transparent et ouvert; de la mobilisation et de la collaboration; de la sensibilisation aux questions autochtones.

L'École vise un seul résultat stratégique : Les fonctionnaires fédéraux ont les connaissances, les habiletés et les compétences communes dont ils ont besoin pour exercer leurs responsabilités envers les Canadiens.

Pour atteindre cet objectif, l'École continuera d'offrir un programme de cours substantiel et cohérent, axé sur les compétences et les connaissances qu'exige une fonction publique dynamique en constante évolution qui doit sans cesse s'adapter aux besoins des intervenants et des Canadiens.

2. Méthodologie et hypothèses sous-jacentes

La préparation de l'état des résultats prospectif exige de la gestion qu'elle fasse des estimations et pose des hypothèses qui influent sur les montants présentés. Les hypothèses sont fondées sur l'information disponible et connue de la direction au moment de l'élaboration de l'état des résultats prospectif, elles correspondent à la conjoncture économique et commerciale actuelle, elles supposent le maintien des priorités gouvernementales et elles demeurent conformes au mandat et aux objectifs stratégiques de l'École. Au moment de préparer l'état des résultats prospectif, la gestion jugeait que les estimations et les hypothèses utilisées étaient raisonnables. Cela dit, les estimations et les hypothèses comportent toutes une part d'incertitude qui croît en proportion de l'horizon prévisionnel.

L'état des résultats prospectif a été préparé :

  • en tenant compte des politiques et priorités gouvernementales et de l'environnement externe qui prévalaient au moment de la mise au point de l'information financière prospective;
  • en tenant compte des plans de l'École, tels qu'ils sont décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités;
  • en tenant compte de l'achèvement de la transformation de l'École en vue de l'adoption d'un nouveau modèle opérationnel qui met l'accent sur l'élaboration et la prestation d'un programme de cours commun pour la fonction publique;
  • en tenant compte des revenus prévus de 11,2 millions de dollars en 2015-2016 et de 6 millions de dollars en 2016-2017, tels qu'ils sont présentés dans le Budget principal des dépenses et le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités;
  • en tenant compte des coûts historiques, des tendances ainsi que des dernières prévisions disponibles pour les exercices 2015-2016 et 2016-2017.

3. Variations et évolution de l'information financière prospective

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir avec exactitude les résultats définitifs de 2015-2016 et de 2016-2017, les résultats réels risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et l'écart pourrait être important.

Parmi les facteurs qui pourraient entraîner d'importants écarts entre l'état des résultats prospectif et l'état des résultats historique, on compte notamment :

  • des changements supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement qui résulteraient de nouvelles initiatives d'économie à l'échelle du gouvernement ou de réajustements d'ordre technique plus tard dans l'année;
  • le moment et le montant des investissements requis dans le cadre du nouveau modèle opérationnel de l'École, en particulier ceux liés à la modernisation des salles de classe et aux améliorations locatives pour la mise en place de l'initiative Milieu de travail 2.0;
  • la mise en œuvre de nouvelles conventions collectives.
Une fois le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités présenté au Parlement, l'École ne mettra pas à jour ses prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans le budget supplémentaire des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

4. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L'information financière prospective a été préparée selon les exigences des conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, qui sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus pour le secteur public canadien.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

  1. Revenus

    Les fonds reçus sont comptabilisés selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice. Ils sont constatés dans la période durant laquelle les services ou produits ont été rendus.

  2. Charges

    Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice. Les charges relatives aux activités de l'École sont comptabilisées lorsque les biens sont reçus et que les services sont rendus. Les services reçus gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations des employés aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d'accident du travail sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement, à leur coût estimatif.

    Les indemnités de vacances, de congés compensatoires et de départ sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent les droits en vertu de leurs conditions d'emploi.

    Les charges incluent également l'amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d'achat.

5. Autorisations parlementaires

L'École est financée en partie par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires. Les opérations ayant une incidence sur les autorisations parlementaires sont constatées à l'aide de la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse modifiée. L'état des résultats prospectif repose quant à lui sur la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice. Par conséquent, les éléments comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectif au cours d'un exercice peuvent être financés au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires qui ont été approuvées au cours d'un exercice précédent ou pendant l'exercice en cours, ou qui le seront dans un exercice à venir. De la même façon, les résultats des activités de fonctionnement nets de l'École diffèrent selon qu'ils sont présentés selon le financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux ci-après :

  1. Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées
    Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées, en milliers de dollars. La première colonne contient le coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement du gouvernement et les transferts, les ajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur les autorisations, les ajustements pour les postes sans incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations, et les autorisations à utiliser pendant l'exercice en cours. Les colonnes suivantes présentent, en chiffres, les résultats pour 2016 et 2017.
    (en dollars) 2016 2017
    Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement du gouvernement et les transferts 94 441 26594 963 035
     
    Ajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur les autorisations
    Revenus
    12 283 013 6 054 822
    Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères
    -12 065 168 -12 050 141
    Indemnités de départ
    -2 249 642 -2 200 000
    Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles
    -2 577 299 -3 275 019
    Total des ajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur les autorisations -4 609 096 -11 470 338
     
    Ajustements pour les postes sans incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations
    Acquisition d'immobilisations corporelles
    3 123 559 8 425 950
    Total des ajustements pour les postes sans incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations 3 123 559 8 425 950
    Autorisations à utiliser pendant l'exercice en cours 92 955 728 91 918 647
  2. Autorisations demandées
    Autorisations demandées, en milliers de dollars. La première colonne contient les autorisations demandées, les autorisations législatives et pendant l'exercice en cours. Les colonnes suivantes présentent, en chiffres, les résultats pour 2016 et 2017.
    (en dollars)20162017
    Crédit 1 – Dépenses de programme
    55 351 16069 217 505
    Total des autorisations demandées 55 351 16069 217 505
     
    Autorisations législatives
    Dépense des revenus en vertu du paragraphe 18(2) de la Loi sur l'École de la fonction publique du CanadaNote* 31 802 301 14 728 525
    Cotisations aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 5 802 267 7 972 617
    Total des autorisations législatives à utiliser 37 604 568 22 701 142
     
    Autorisations à utiliser pendant l'exercice en cours 92 955 728 91 918 647

En vedette

Remplissez le questionnaire du Recensement de 2021 dès aujourd'hui!

Aidez votre collectivité à prendre des décisions en éducation, transport, soins de santé, et services de logement.

Mois national de l'histoire autochtone

Cette année, le Mois national de l'histoire autochtone est consacré aux enfants disparus, aux familles qu'ils ont laissées derrière eux et aux survivants des pensionnats.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire (obligatoire)
Date de modification :