Language selection

Search

Quarterly Financial Report: April 1 to June 30, 2017

Management Statement for the Quarter Ended June 30, 2017

Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. It should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for Fiscal Year 2017 to 2018.

This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The Canada School of Public Service (the School) was created on April 1, 2004, when the legislative provisions of Part IV of the Public Service Modernization Act came into force. The School is a departmental corporation in the Treasury Board portfolio, and its mission is set out in the Canada School of Public Service Act.

The School was created to ensure that employees of the core public service have the competencies and common knowledge required to serve Canadians efficiently and effectively. To achieve this goal, the School offers a core curriculum that focuses on the key skills and knowledge required by a dynamic public service that must constantly adapt to the needs of its stakeholders and Canadians.

The School is the common learning service provider for the core public service. It has a legislative mandate to provide a range of learning activities to build individual and organizational capacity and management excellence within the public service. The School is in a unique position to offer relevant, affordable and quality learning services in both official languages to all public service employees across the country, as well as to functional communities and public service organizations.

The School has a single strategic outcome: "Federal public service employees have the common knowledge, skills and competencies to fulfil their responsibilities in serving Canadians." One program, Learning Services, supports this strategic outcome.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using expenditure-based accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the School's spending authorities granted by Parliament, and those used by the department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for Fiscal Year 2017 to 2018. This report has also been guided by a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before money can be spent by the government. Approvals are given through appropriation acts in the form of annually approved limits or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The School uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements, which are part of the departmental results reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of the Quarter Ended June 30, 2017, and Fiscal Year 2017 to 2018 Results to Date

1. Total Authorities for Fiscal Year 2017 to 2018

  • The School has two sources of funding:
    • appropriated funding as voted by Parliament for those activities to be paid from the Consolidated Revenue Fund; and
    • statutory funding authority for the respending of revenue and contributions to the employee benefit plans.
  • Total authorities available in fiscal year 2017 to 2018 amount to $85.5 million. This is $5 million or 5.5% lower than the $90.5 million available in fiscal year 2016 to 2017. The $85.5 million comprises $63.4 million in voted appropriations and $22.1 million in statutory funding..
  • Over a three year period that ended in fiscal year 2016 to 2017, the School underwent a significant transformation and implemented a new funding model that is primarily based on appropriations. At the same time, the School’s appropriations were reduced by over 8%, or $5.8 million, from $69.2 million at the end of the first quarter in 2016 to 2017, to $63.4 million in 2017 to 2018.
  • This decrease in appropriations is partly offset by an increase in statutory funding of $0.8 million: a $0.7 million increase in respendable revenue brought forward from the previous fiscal year, plus a $0.1 million increase in employee benefit plans.
  • The statutory funding authority of $22.1 million for 2017 to 2018 consists of $6.1 million of forecasted respendable revenue, $7.9 million of respendable revenue brought forward from the previous fiscal year under the provisions of section 18(2) of the Canada School of Public Service Act, and $8.1 million for employee benefit plans.

2. Planned Expenditures for Fiscal Year 2017 to 2018

  • The School has planned expenditures of $85.5 million in 2017 to 2018, consisting of $62.8 million for salaries and benefits and $22.7 million for operating and maintenance.

3. Expenditures for the Quarter Ended June 30, 2016

  • Compared to the same period last year, overall expenditures have decreased by $2.6 million through June 30, 2017 ($13.3 million in 2017 to 2018 versus $15.9 million in 2016 to 2017) primarily in professional services.

Risks and Uncertainties

As previously noted, funding from appropriations has declined by over 8% since fiscal year 2016 to 2017. Under the new funding model, which is primarily based on appropriations, funding for the School is mostly fixed. In response to this tighter financial context, the School has adopted a prudent and deliberate financial strategy, grounded in a rigorous budget management process and measures to contain costs. Through this strategy, the School is creating financial flexibility to self-fund investments in its learning platform and curriculum.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

During this quarter, the School redesigned its organizational structure, consolidating its operations from three to two branches and delayering its executive levels. This new, simpler organizational structure makes accountabilities clearer and allows the School to be more nimble and responsive to learners.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:
Wilma Vreeswijk
Deputy Minister/President


Elizabeth Tromp
Chief Financial Officer


Ottawa, Canada
August 24, 2017

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Statement of authorities for fiscal years 2017 to 2018 and 2016 to 2017 in thousands of dollars. Read down the first column for the authorities and then to the right for the figures for the year ending March 31, 2017, the quarter ended June 30, 2017 for fiscal year 2017 to 2018, the year-to-date used at quarter-end, for the year ending March 31, 2017, the quarter ended June 30, 2016 for fiscal year 2016 to 2017, and the year-to-date used at quarter-end. The last row of the table displays the total authorities.
(In thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2017 to 2018 Fiscal year 2016 to 2017
Total available for use for the year ending
March 31, 2018
Used during the quarter ending
June 30, 2017
Year to date used at quarter end Total available for use for the year ending
March 31, 2017
Used during the quarter
ending

June 30, 2016
Year to date used at quarter end
Vote 1 – Program expenditures 63,416 11,303 11,303 69,218 13,925 13,925
Budgetary statutory authorities
Contributions to employee benefit plans
8,094 2,024 2,024 7,973 1,993 1,993
Spending of revenues pursuant to subsection 18(2) of the Canada School of Public Service Act
14,005 - - 13,351 - -
TOTAL AUTHORITIES 85,515 13,327 13,327 90,542 15,918 15,918

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object for fiscal years 2017 to 2018 and 2016 to 2017 in thousands of dollars. Read down the first column for the list of expenditures and then read to the right for the figures for the year ending March 31, 2018, the quarter ended June 30, 2017, the year-to-date used at quarter-end, the year ending March 31, 2017, the quarter ended June 30, 2016, the year-to-date used at quarter-end. The last row of the table displays the total budgetary expenditures.
(In thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2017 to 2018 Fiscal year 2016 to 2017
Planned expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2018
Expended during the quarter ending
June 30, 2017
Year to date used at quarter end Planned expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2017
Expended during the quarter ending
June 30, 2016
Year to date used at quarter end
Expenditures
Personnel
62,790 11,668 11,668 63,300 12,109 12,109
Transportation and communications
1,821 313 313 2,230 351 351
Information
550 102 102 786 124 124
Professional and special services
15,500 1,034 1,034 16,971 2,705 2,705
Rentals
381 100 100 2,027 395 395
Repair and maintenance
2,000 2 2 2,546 25 25
Utilities, materials and supplies
363 24 24 499 49 49
Acquisition of machinery and equipment
2,075 81 81 2,183 141 141
Transfer payments
- - - - - -
Other subsidies and payments
35 3 3 - 19 19
TOTAL BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES 85,515 13,327 13,327 90,542 15,918 15,918

Features

Complete your census today!

Help your community make choices about education, employment, transportation, health care and housing services.

National Indigenous History Month

This year, National Indigenous History Month is dedicated to the missing children, the families left behind and the survivors of residential schools.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about (required)
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Rapport financier trimestriel : 1er avril au 30 juin 2017

Rapport de la direction pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017

Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé comme l'exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. On devrait le lire en se rapportant au Budget principal des dépenses et aux Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l'exercice financier 2017 à 2018.

Le présent rapport trimestriel n'a pas fait l'objet d'un examen ni d'une vérification externe.

L'École de la fonction publique du Canada (l'École) a été créée le 1er avril 2004, lors de l'entrée en vigueur des dispositions de la partie 4 de la Loi sur la modernisation de la fonction publique. L'École est un établissement public du portefeuille du Conseil du Trésor, et dont la mission est énoncée dans la Loi sur l'École de la fonction publique du Canada.

L'École a été créée pour faire en sorte que les fonctionnaires fédéraux de l’administration publique centrale aient les compétences et les connaissances communes pour servir la population canadienne de manière efficiente et efficace. À cette fin, elle offre un programme de cours commun, axé sur les compétences et les connaissances qu'exige une fonction publique dynamique en constante évolution qui doit sans cesse s'adapter aux besoins des intervenants et des Canadiens.

L'École fournit des services d'apprentissage communs à l’administration publique centrale. Elle a le mandat législatif d'offrir une gamme d'activités d'apprentissage afin de mettre en valeur le potentiel individuel et organisationnel ainsi que l'excellence en gestion au sein de la fonction publique. Ainsi, l'École se trouve dans une position privilégiée pour fournir des services d'apprentissage pertinents, économiques et de qualité aux fonctionnaires, de même qu'aux collectivités fonctionnelles et aux organisations de la fonction publique, et ce, partout au pays et dans les deux langues officielles.

L'École vise un seul résultat stratégique : « Les fonctionnaires fédéraux ont les connaissances, les habiletés et les compétences communes dont ils ont besoin pour exercer leurs responsabilités envers les Canadiens ». Un programme, les Services d’apprentissage, contribue à l'atteinte de ce résultat stratégique.

Méthode de présentation

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de l'École accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par l’organisation, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l'exercice 2017 à 2018. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois, sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à émettre un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

L'École utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur les résultats ministériels. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels, pour la période se terminant le 30 juin 2017, et cumulatifs, pour l’exercice 2017 à 2018

1. Autorisations totales pour 2017 à 2018

  • L'École a deux sources de financement :
    • les crédits annuels votés par le Parlement pour des activités à être financées à partir du Trésor public;
    • l'autorisation législative pour les recettes disponibles et les contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés.
  • Le total des autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice 2017 à 2018 s’élève à 85,5 millions de dollars. C’est 5 millions ou 5,5 % de moins qu’en 2016 à 2017 (90,5 millions de dollars). Ce montant se compose de 63,4 millions de dollars en crédits votés et de 22,1 millions de dollars en financement statutaire.
  • En 2016 à 2017, l’École a terminé une importante transformation qui s’échelonnait sur trois années financières. Dans le cadre de cette transformation, elle a mis en œuvre un nouveau modèle de financement fondé sur les crédits votés. Pendant la même période, les crédits de l’École ont été réduits de plus de 8 %, soit 5,8 millions de dollars, passant de 69,2 millions de dollars à la fin du premier trimestre de 2016 à 2017 à 63,4 millions de dollars en 2017 à 2018.
  • La diminution des crédits est en partie compensée par une augmentation de 0,8 million de dollars en financement statutaire (0,7 million de dollars en recettes disponibles reportées de l’exercice précédent et 0,1 million en régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés).
  • L'autorisation législative de 22,1 millions de dollars pour 2017 à 2018 comprend 6,1 millions de dollars de recettes disponibles prévues, 7,9 millions de dollars de recettes disponibles reportées de l'exercice précédent (conformément au paragraphe 18(2) de la Loi sur l’École de la fonction publique du Canada) et 8,1 millions de dollars pour les régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés.

2. Dépenses prévues pour 2017 à 2018

  • L’École a prévu des dépenses de 85,5 millions de dollars en 2017 à 2018, lesquelles sont réparties comme suit : 62,8 millions de dollars pour les salaires et les avantages sociaux, et 22,7 millions de dollars pour le fonctionnement et l’entretien.

3. Dépenses pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017

  • Comparativement à la même période l’an passé, les dépenses totales ont diminué de 2,6 millions de dollars au 30 juin 2017 (13,3 millions de dollars en 2017 à 2018 par rapport à 15,9 millions de dollars en 2016 à 2017). Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à la baisse des dépenses liées aux services professionnels.

Risques et incertitudes

Comme on l’indique ci-dessus, les crédits de l’École ont été réduits de plus de 8 % depuis l’année financière 2016 à 2017. Dans le cadre du nouveau modèle de financement, lequel est basé sur les crédits votés, le financement de l’École est plutôt fixe. Dans ce contexte financier plus serré, l’École a adopté une stratégie prudente et réfléchie qui repose sur une budgétisation rigoureuse et des mesures de restriction des coûts. Cette stratégie donne à l’École la flexibilité nécessaire pour investir dans sa plateforme d’apprentissage et son programme de cours.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Durant le présent trimestre, l’École a procédé à une restructuration organisationnelle en regroupant ses opérations dans deux directions générales au lieu de trois et en éliminant certains niveaux de gestion. Cette structure organisationnelle simplifiée clarifie les responsabilités et permet à l’École d’être plus souple et de mieux s’adapter aux besoins des apprenants.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :
Wilma Vreeswijk
Sous-ministre/présidente


Elizabeth Tromp
Dirigeante principale des finances


Ottawa (Canada)
Le 24 août 2017

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

L'état des autorisations pour l'exercice financier 2017 à 2018 en milliers de dollars. Parcourir la première colonne pour les autorisations et suivre ensuite la ligne du bas vers la droite pour les chiffres concernant l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017, le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 et le cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre. La dernière ligne précise les autorisations totales.
(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2017 à 2018 Exercice 2016 à 2017
Crédits totaux
disponibles pour
l'exercice
se terminant
le 31 mars 2018
Crédits utilisés
pour le trimestre terminé
le 30 juin 2017
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux
disponibles pour
l'exercice
se terminant
le 31 mars 2017
Crédits utilisés
pour le trimestre
terminé
le 30 juin 2016
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de programme 63 416 11 303 11 303 69 218 13 925 13 925
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés
8 094 2 024 2 024 7 973 1 993 1 993
Dépense des revenus conformément au paragraphe 18(2) de la Loi sur l'École de la fonction publique du Canada
14 005 - - 13 351 - -
AUTORISATIONS TOTALES 85 515 13 327 13 327 90 542 15 918 15 918

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant pour l'exercice financier 2017 à 2018 en milliers de dollars. Parcourir la première colonne pour la liste des dépenses. Suivre ensuite la ligne du bas vers la droite pour les chiffres concernant l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017, le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 et le cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre. La dernière ligne précise les dépenses budgétaires totales.
(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2017 à 2018 Exercice 2016 à 2017
Dépenses prévues
pour l'exercice
se terminant
le 31 mars 2018
Sommes dépensées
durant le trimestre terminé
le 30 juin 2017
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues
pour l'exercice
se terminant
le 31 mars 2017
Sommes dépensées
durant le trimestre terminé
le 30 juin 2016
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel
62 790 11 668 11 668 63 300 12 109 12 109
Transports et communications
1 821 313 313 2 230 351 351
Information
550 102 102 786 124 124
Services professionnels et spéciaux
15 500 1 034 1 034 16 971 2 705 2 705
Location
381 100 100 2 027 395 395
Services de réparation et d'entretien
2 000 2 2 2 546 25 25
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnement
363 24 24 499 49 49
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage
2 075 81 81 2 183 141 141
Paiements de transfert
- - - - - -
Autres subventions et paiements
35 3 3 - 19 19
DÉPENSES BUDGÉTAIRES NETTES TOTALES 85 515 13 327 13 327 90 542 15 918 15 918

En vedette

Remplissez le questionnaire du Recensement de 2021 dès aujourd'hui!

Aidez votre collectivité à prendre des décisions en éducation, transport, soins de santé, et services de logement.

Mois national de l'histoire autochtone

Cette année, le Mois national de l'histoire autochtone est consacré aux enfants disparus, aux familles qu'ils ont laissées derrière eux et aux survivants des pensionnats.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire (obligatoire)
Date de modification :