Language selection

Search

Quarterly Financial Report: October 1 to December 31, 2019

Management statement for the quarter ended December 31, 2019

Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. It should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for fiscal year 2019–2020.

This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The Canada School of Public Service (the School) was created on April 1, 2004, when the legislative provisions of Part IV of the Public Service Modernization Act came into effect. The School is a departmental corporation in the Treasury Board portfolio, and its mission is set out in the Canada School of Public Service Act.

The School was created to ensure that employees of the core public service have the competencies and common knowledge required to serve Canadians efficiently and effectively. To achieve this goal, the School offers a core curriculum that focuses on the key skills and knowledge required by a dynamic public service that must constantly adapt to the needs of its stakeholders and Canadians.

The School is the common learning service provider for the core public service. It has a legislative mandate to provide a range of learning activities to build individual and organizational capacity and management excellence within the public service. The School is in a unique position to offer relevant, affordable and quality learning services in both official languages to all public service employees across the country, as well as to functional communities and public service organizations.

The School's core responsibility is "core public service learning".

Basis of presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using expenditure-based accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the School's spending authorities granted by Parliament, and those used by the department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for fiscal year 2019–2020. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before money can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts, or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The School uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements, which are part of the departmental results reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of the quarter ended December 31, 2019, and fiscal year 2019–2020

  1. 1. Total authorities for fiscal year 2019–2020

    • The School has two sources of funding:
      • appropriated funding, as voted by Parliament, for those activities to be paid from the Consolidated Revenue Fund
      • statutory funding authority, for the re‑spending of revenue and contributions to the employee benefit plans
    • Total authorities available in fiscal year 2019–2020 amount to $87.7 million, which comprises $65.7 million in voted appropriations and $22 million in statutory funding.
    • The statutory funding authority of $22 million in fiscal year 2019–2020 consists of $6.9 million of forecasted respendable revenue, $6.4 million of respendable revenue, brought forward from the previous fiscal year under the provisions of section 18(2) of the Canada School of Public Service Act, and $8.7 million for employee benefit plans. Note that statutory authorities listed in Main Estimates reflect earlier revenue forecasts.
    • Total authorities available for use in 2019–2020 decreased by $8 million or 8% under the $95.7 million available in fiscal year 2018–2019, mainly due to the following year‑over‑year changes:
      • respendable revenue brought forward from 2018–2019 are lower by $3.3 million;
      • forecasted respendable revenue to be earned in 2019–2020 are lower by $3.0 million.
      • operation budget carry forward amount is lower by $1.9 million.
  2. 2. Planned expenditures for fiscal year 2019–2020

    • The School has planned expenditures of $87.7 million for fiscal year 2019–2020, consisting of $67.7 million for salaries and benefits and $20 million for operating and maintenance. Compared with the same quarter last year, this is a decrease of $8 million, primarily for Personnel ($2.3 million), Professional and special services ($0.9 million) and other subsidies and payments ($4.6 million). With respect to the decrease in other subsidies, this is mainly the result of a change in the accounting treatment of the funding received for the Executive Leadership Development Program which was previously recorded as revenues and, as of 2019–2020, is recorded as an offset to expenditures. Funding received for cost‑sharing initiatives with other government departments is also recorded as a reduction of the expenditures initially incurred by the School.
  3. 3. Expenditures for the quarter ended December 31, 2019

    • Compared with the same quarter last fiscal year, overall expenditures increased by $4.3 million ($23.6 million versus $19.3 million), primarily due to increased spending in personnel ($6.5 million), offset by professional and special services ($1 million) and other subsidies and payments ($1.3 million). The increase in personnel costs is mainly due to the retroactive payment of new collective agreements and the timing in processing the reimbursement of salaries for employees who have been transferred to the School while the decrease in professional and special services is primarily attributable to reduced expenditures for training consultants, information technology management consultants, information technology management services and acquisition of training packages. The decrease in other subsidies and payments is mainly the result of a change in the accounting treatment of the funding received for cost‑sharing programs.
  4. 4. Year-to-Date Expenditures as at December 31, 2019

    • The overall increase in year-to-date expenditures of $2 million as of December 31, 2019, compared with the same period last year ($57.8 million versus $55.8 million) is mainly attributable to increased spending in personnel ($6.9 million) which is in part due to the creation of a new Innovation and Policy Services Branch and the retroactive payment of new collective agreements. The increase is partially offset by the funding received for the Executive Leadership Development Program and other cost-sharing programs ($4.4 million), which has been recorded as an offset to expenditures.

Risks and uncertainties

The School's ability to meet its goals is dependent on the relevance and quality of its learning products, its technological capability to support access to these products, and its ability to respond to changing priorities and learning needs. The School manages financial resources prudently to be able to meet these challenges.

Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

No significant changes were noted during the third quarter of 2019–2020.

Approval by senior officials

Approved by:
Taki Sarantakis
President


Tom Roberts
Chief Financial Officer
Ottawa, Canada

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(In thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2019–2020 Fiscal year 2018–2019
Total available
for use for
the year ending
March 31, 2020Note*
Used during
the quarter ended
December 31, 2019
Year to date
used at
quarter‑end
Total available
for use for the
year ending
March 31, 2019Note*
Used during
the quarter
ended
December 31, 2018
Year to date
used at quarter end
Vote 1 – Program expenditures 65,782 21,270 47,851 68,136 12,088 41,746
Budgetary statutory authorities
Contributions to employee benefit plans
8,739 728 5,098 8,038 2,680 6,029
Spending of revenues pursuant to subsection 18(2) of the Canada School of Public Service Act
13,216 1,606 4,818 19,527 4,561 8,016
TOTAL AUTHORITIES 87,737 23,604 57,767 95,701 19,329 55,791

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(In thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2019–2020 Fiscal year 2018–2019
Planned expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2020Note*
Expended
during the
quarter ended
December 31, 2019
Year to date
used at quarter end
Planned
expenditures
for the year ending
March 31, 2019Note*
Expended
during the
quarter ended
December 31, 2018
Year to date
used at
quarter end
Expenditures
Personnel
67,668 21,597 49,042 69,931 15,092 42,097
Transportation and communications
1,945 644 1,516 2,104 666 1,517
Information
643 175 536 831 288 619
Professional and special services
15,939 1,333 8,957 16,799 2,328 9,694
Rentals
680 276 586 451 197 330
Repair and maintenance
2,425 200 206 2,062 147 157
Utilities, materials and supplies
363 106 208 441 100 203
Acquisition of machinery and equipment
2,156 471 798 2,609 402 818
Other subsidies and payments
(4,082) (1,197) (4,082) 473 109 356
TOTAL BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES 87,737 23,604 57,767 95,701 19,329 55,791

Features

Complete your census today!

Help your community make choices about education, employment, transportation, health care and housing services.

National Indigenous History Month

This year, National Indigenous History Month is dedicated to the missing children, the families left behind and the survivors of residential schools.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about (required)
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Rapport financier trimestriel : 1er octobre au 31 décembre 2019

Rapport de la direction pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2019

Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé comme l'exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. On devrait le lire en se rapportant au Budget principal des dépenses et aux Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l'exercice financier 2019‑2020.

Le présent rapport trimestriel n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ni d'un examen.

L'École de la fonction publique du Canada (l'École) a été créée le 1er avril 2004, lors de l'entrée en vigueur des dispositions de la partie 4 de la Loi sur la modernisation de la fonction publique. L'École est un établissement public du portefeuille du Conseil du Trésor, et dont la mission est énoncée dans la Loi sur l'École de la fonction publique du Canada.

L'École a été créée pour faire en sorte que les fonctionnaires fédéraux de l'administration publique centrale aient les compétences et les connaissances communes pour servir la population canadienne de manière efficiente et efficace. À cette fin, elle offre un programme de cours commun, axé sur les compétences et les connaissances qu'exige une fonction publique dynamique en constante évolution qui doit sans cesse s'adapter aux besoins des intervenants et des Canadiens.

L'École fournit des services d'apprentissage communs à l'administration publique centrale. Elle a le mandat législatif d'offrir une gamme d'activités d'apprentissage afin de mettre en valeur le potentiel individuel et organisationnel ainsi que l'excellence en gestion au sein de la fonction publique. Ainsi, l'École se trouve dans une position privilégiée pour fournir des services d'apprentissage pertinents, économiques et de qualité aux fonctionnaires, de même qu'aux collectivités fonctionnelles et aux organisations de la fonction publique, et ce, partout au pays et dans les deux langues officielles.

La responsabilité essentielle de l'École est « l'apprentissage commun dans la fonction publique ».

Méthode de présentation

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de l'École accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par l'organisation, de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses et aux Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l'exercice 2019‑2020. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois, sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissout pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à émettre un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

L'École utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur les résultats ministériels. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels, pour la période se terminant le 31 décembre 2019, pour l'exercice 2019‑2020

  1. 1. Autorisations totales pour 2019‑2020

    • L'École a deux sources de financement :
      • les crédits annuels votés par le Parlement pour des activités à être financées à partir du Trésor public;
      • l'autorisation législative pour les recettes disponibles et les contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés.
    • Le total des autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice 2019‑2020 s'élève à 87,7 millions de dollars, soit 65,7 millions de dollars de crédits votés et 22 millions de dollars de financement législatif.
    • L'autorisation financière législative de 22 millions de dollars pour l'exercice 2019‑2020 comprend 6,9 millions de dollars de recettes disponibles prévues, 6,4 millions de dollars de recettes disponibles reportées de l'exercice précédent (conformément au paragraphe 18(2) de la Loi sur l'École de la fonction publique du Canada) et 8,7 millions de dollars pour les régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés. Prendre note que les autorisations législatives énumérées dans le Budget principal des dépenses reflètent les prévisions de revenus initiales.
    • Le total des autorisations disponibles pour 2019‑2020 a diminué de 8 millions de dollars, ou 8 %, par rapport aux 95,7 millions de dollars disponibles en 2018‑2019, principalement en raison des variations suivantes d'un exercice à l'autre :
      • les recettes disponibles reportées de l'exercice précédent sont inférieures de 3,3 millions de dollars;
      • les recettes disponibles prévues pour 2019‑20 sont inférieures de 3,0 millions de dollars.
      • le montant du report du budget de fonctionnement est réduit de 1,9 million de dollars.
  2. 2. Dépenses prévues pour 2019‑2020

    • L'École a prévu des dépenses de 87,7 millions de dollars pour l'année financière 2019‑2020, lesquelles sont réparties comme suit : 67,7 millions de dollars pour les salaires et avantages sociaux, et 20 millions de dollars pour le fonctionnement et l'entretien. Par rapport au même trimestre de l'année dernière, il s'agit d'une diminution de 8 millions de dollars, principalement pour le personnel (2,3 millions de dollars), les services professionnels et spéciaux (0.9 million de dollars) et les autres subventions et paiements (4,6 millions de dollars). La diminution pour les autres subventions et paiements découle d'un changement de traitement comptable des fonds à recevoir pour le Programme de développement en leadership pour les cadres supérieurs. Auparavant, ces fonds étaient comptabilisés comme des recettes et, à compter de 2019‑2020, ils sont comptabilisés en réduction des dépenses. Le financement reçu pour des initiatives de partage des coûts avec d'autres ministères est également comptabilisé en réduction des dépenses initialement engagées par l'École.
  3. 3. Dépenses pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2019

    • Comparativement à la même période l'an passé, les dépenses ont augmenté de 4,3 millions de dollars (23.6 millions de dollars par rapport à 19,3 millions de dollars), principalement en raison de l'augmentation des dépenses de personnel (6,5 million de dollars), compensée par les services professionnels et spéciaux (1 millions de dollars) et d'autres subventions et paiements (1,3 millions de dollars). L'augmentation des coûts de personnel est principalement due au paiement rétroactif des nouvelles conventions collectives et à la période de traitement du paiement des salaires des employés transférés à l'École, tandis que la diminution des services professionnels et spéciaux est principalement due aux paiements versés pour des conseillers en formation, des consultants en TI et en télécommunications, des services informatiques, et à l'achat de programmes de formation et de cours. En ce qui concerne la diminution des autres subventions et paiements, elle est principalement le résultat d'un changement de traitement comptable du financement reçu pour les programmes de partage des coûts.
  4. 4. Cumul des dépenses au 31 décembre 2019

    • L'augmentation des dépenses cumulatives de 2 millions de dollars au 31 décembre 2019 par rapport à la même période de l'exercice précédent (57,8 millions de dollars par rapport à 55,8 millions de dollars) s'explique principalement par une augmentation des dépenses en personnel (6,9 millions de dollars), qui est principalement attribuable à la nouvelle Direction générale des services d'innovation et de politiques, et aux paiements rétroactifs des nouvelles conventions collectives. Ceci est compensé partiellement par une modification du traitement comptable des fonds reçus pour le Programme de développement en leadership pour les cadres supérieurs ainsi que d'autres initiatives (4,4 millions de dollars), qui sont comptabilisés en réduction des dépenses.

Risques et incertitudes

Pour pouvoir atteindre ses objectifs, l'École doit offrir des produits d'apprentissage pertinents et de qualité, disposer de la technologie nécessaire pour pouvoir le faire et être en mesure de s'adapter aux priorités changeantes et aux besoins d'apprentissage. L'École gère ses ressources financières avec prudence pour y parvenir.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Aucun changement important n'a été noté au cours du troisième trimestre de 2019‑2020.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :
Taki Sarantakis
Président


Tom Roberts
Dirigeant principal des finances
Ottawa (Canada)

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2019‑2020 Exercice 2018‑2029
Crédits
totaux
disponible pour
l'exercice se
terminant le
31 mars
2020Note*
Crédits
utilisés
pour le
trimestre
terminé le
31 décembre 2019
Cumul
des crédit
utilisés
à la fin du
trimestre
Crédits
totaux
disponible pour
l'exercice se
terminant le
31 mars
2019Note*
Crédits
utilisés
pour le
trimestre
terminé le
31 décembre 2018
Cumul
des crédit
utilisés
à la fin du
trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 65 782 21 270 47 851 68 136 12 088 41 746
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés
8 739 728 5 098 8 038 2 680 6 029
Dépense des revenus conformément au paragraphe 18(2) de la Loi sur l'École de la fonction publique du Canada
13 216 1 606 4 818 19 527 4 561 8 016
AUTORISATIONS TOTALES 87 737 23 604 57 767 95 701 19 329 55 791

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2019‑2020 Exercice 2018‑2019
Dépenses
prévues pour
l'exercice
se terminant
le 31 mars 2020Note*
Dépensées
durant le
trimestre
terminé
le 31 décembre 2019
Cumul
des crédits
utilisés
à la fin du
trimestre
Dépenses
prévues pour
l'exercice
se terminant
le 31 mars 2019Note*
Dépensées
durant le
trimestre
terminé
le 31 décembre 2018
Cumul
des crédits
utilisés
à la fin du
trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel
67 668 21 597 49 042 69 931 15 092 42 097
Transports et communications
1 945 644 1 516 2 104 666 1 517
Information
643 175 536 831 288 619
Services professionnels et spéciaux
15 939 1 333 8 957 16 799 2 328 9 694
Location
680 276 586 451 197 330
Services de réparation et d'entretien
2 425 200 206 2 062 147 157
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements
363 106 208 441 100 203
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage
2 156 471 798 2 609 402 818
Autres subventions et paiements
(4 082) (1 197) (4 082) 473 109 356
DÉPENSES BUDGÉTAIRES TOTALES 87 737 23 604 57 767 95 701 19 329 55 791

En vedette

Remplissez le questionnaire du Recensement de 2021 dès aujourd'hui!

Aidez votre collectivité à prendre des décisions en éducation, transport, soins de santé, et services de logement.

Mois national de l'histoire autochtone

Cette année, le Mois national de l'histoire autochtone est consacré aux enfants disparus, aux familles qu'ils ont laissées derrière eux et aux survivants des pensionnats.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire (obligatoire)
Date de modification :