CSPS Virtual Café Series: Climate Change – Where Do We Go From Here?

CSPS Virtual Café Series

Description

Climate change is one of greatest risks facing humanity. Already, our natural world is being altered in many ways, with frequent extreme weather events threatening communities, resulting in damage and devastation, and a growing number of species pushed to extinction.

Many parallels can be drawn between climate change and the current COVID-19 pandemic: they both have the potential to massively disrupt our lives and our economies, they do not respect national boundaries, and they cannot be addressed by countries in isolation. Faced with the enormity of the global challenge that climate change presents, we must continually examine the role that Canada and Canadians can play in finding solutions, becoming more resilient, and being better prepared for a wide range of outcomes.

Join us for a CSPS Virtual Café event featuring Jocelyne Bourgon, President of Public Governance International and former Clerk of the Privy Council; Dr. Catherine Potvin, Professor of Biology at McGill University and Canada Research Chair in Climate Change Mitigation and Tropical Forest; and Nick Xenos, Executive Director for the Centre for Greening Government at the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, as they discuss climate change risk and resilience. These speakers will consider questions,  such as: "What does setting our society on a sustainable climate trajectory look like?" and "Has the COVID‑19 pandemic helped or hindered action on climate change?"

Learn more about the CSPS Virtual Café Series.

Speakers

  • Jocelyne Bourgon, President, Public Governance International
  • Dr. Catherine Potvin, Professor, Department of Biology, McGill University
  • Nick Xenos, Executive Director, Centre for Greening Government, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

Features

COVID19

Information for Government of Canada employees: Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Updates for employees on COVID-19, telework, advisories, messages and resources to share.
Cyber Security

Cyber Security Awareness MonthNew

This year, Cyber Security Awareness Month is a time to appreciate our devices. Move over, dogs. This October, our devices are our new best friends.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about:
Enter your email if you would like a reply:
Date modified:

Café virtuel de l'EFPC : Le changement climatique – que faire maintenant?

Série Café virtuel de l'EFPC

Description

Le changement climatique est l'un des plus grands risques auxquels l'humanité est confrontée. Notre planète subit déjà de nombreuses dégradations, qui s'accompagnent de fréquents phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes mettant en péril les communautés, provoquant dégâts et dévastations et une augmentation des espèces menacées d'extinction.

De nombreux rapprochements peuvent être établis entre le changement climatique et la pandémie de COVID-19 qui sévit actuellement. Ces deux phénomènes sont susceptibles de perturber considérablement nos vies et nos économies, ils dépassent les frontières nationales et ne peuvent être traités par les pays touchés de manière isolée. Face à l'énormité du défi mondial que représente le changement climatique, nous devons continuellement examiner le rôle que le Canada et les Canadiens peuvent jouer dans la recherche de solutions, en devenant plus résilients et en étant mieux préparés à faire face à un large éventail de conséquences.

Soyez des nôtres pour ce café virtuel de l'EFPC, dans lequel Jocelyne Bourgon, présidente de l'organisme Gouvernance publique internationale et ancienne greffière du Conseil privé; Catherine Potvin, docteure en écologie végétale, professeure de biologie à l'Université McGill et titulaire d'une chaire de recherche du Canada sur l'atténuation du changement climatique en forêt tropicale, ainsi que Nick Xenos, directeur exécutif du Centre pour un gouvernement vert du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, discuteront des risques et de la résilience face au changement climatique. Ils se pencheront sur certaines questions, à savoir : « Quelle est l'orientation de notre société vers une trajectoire climatique durable? » et « La pandémie de COVID‑19 a-t-elle aidé ou entravé les mesures de lutte contre le changement climatique »?

Apprenez-en plus sur la Série Café virtuel de l'EFPC.

Conférenciers

  • Jocelyne Bourgon, présidente, Gouvernance publique internationale
  • Dr. Catherine Potvin, professeure, Département de Biologie, Université McGill
  • Nick Xenos, directeur exécutif, Centre pour un gouvernement vert, Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada

En vedette

COVID19

Renseignements à l'intention des employés du gouvernement du Canada : maladie à coronavirus (COVID‑19)

Mise à jour à l'intention des employés sur COVID‑19, télétravail, avis, messages et ressources à partager.

Cybersécurité

Mois de la sensibilisation à la cybersécuritéNouveau

Cette année, le MSC est aussi le temps pour apprécier les appareils électroniques. En octobre, le meilleur ami de l'homme ne sera pas le chien, mais les appareils intelligents.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire :
Veuillez entrer votre courriel si vous souhaitez une réponse :
Date de modification :